2014 is just around the corner!

Well the new year is upon us. For lots of people that means making new goals and hoping to find the strength to follow through. 
My one real big goal is to get out of credit card debt. We don’t have a lot of debt, but we have enough. We could easily pay it all off with our savings, but that is all in an account where we get punished for removing money. I don’t carry the card with me anymore so now I just need to forget the CC number (dang online shopping!) This may require me to obtain additional income, so I may be looking for a job with very flexible hours when we get to California. 

As a family we also have the typical personal fitness goal, but with my newest endeavor with Shakeology and Focus T25 that is coming along, slowly but surely. I am about 8 pounds from my pre-pregnancy weight so that puts me about 28 pounds from my ultimate goal weight. But not even thinking about numbers, this weekend I wore jeans that I haven’t fit into since before Evelyn was born. Huge accomplishment in my book!

So Cal (maybe even Camp Pendleton?)
img source
I would really like to do some traveling, we have plans to visit family and friends on the east coast in April, before our move to California. But I would also like to do some traveling in California, besides the weekend road trips I am sure we will have lots of. I am thinking Yosemite, and maybe some camping, Just some fun outdoors. I’ve only ever been to Cali a handful of times, and besides visiting 29 Palms, when Paul and I were dating, they were all when I was much younger and I don’t really remember. 
American Village, Okinawa, Japan 2010
I would like to work on honing my Photography skills. I love taking pictures of scenery, and wildlife. I love capturing the feeling of a place. I love to look at my pictures and have them make me feel something. I want to get to the point where my pictures make other people feel something too. 
I would like to grow my blog. I am actually participating in a facebook group thing that is aimed at growing your blog in 2014. I hope I can keep up with it better than I kept up with everything else this year. 
this is the only picture I can find of my entertainment center, and it only shows about 1/3 of it, the pic is from Okinawa and we were getting ready to move so the house is a disaster, and I am a terrible housekeeper. 
And finally I want to minimize my belongings.

When we got to Okinawa, we were still sort of newlyweds, and we had all this money saved up for furniture since we were living off futons and Ikea stuff before we moved. When we bought stuff we went big, real big. At the time we were thinking of the investment, having a nice piece of furniture that will stand the test of time. Well I still think our stuff is beautiful, but it’s HUGE. Our entertainment center is 5 giant pieces that fit together, and the three main pieces are nearly impossible to move. For someone who likes to re-arrange every few months, this makes my life difficult.

So my goal is to get to California and have the movers unpack just about all the furniture pieces into the garage, and then have a big huge yard sale and sell all our crap to someone who really wants it. 
Do you have any big goals for 2014? 
Share them with me, or link up your 2014 goals below! 
Not a lot of pictures in this post so here is one of the dogs, this is in Okinawa on the beach by our house. When I told the dogs we were moving to the beach again they were so excited they almost exploded. 
They love the beach.

document.write(”);

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in Goals, link-up, new years. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2014 is just around the corner!

  1. Breanna says:

    You have some really awesome goals! Many of them I can totally relate to 🙂 I want to focus on my blog a lot more this year, too 🙂 Of course, trying to find that balance can be hard. My family obviously comes first! 🙂 I just miss networking and talking with other bloggers. I'd love some information on the Facebook group! 🙂 Is it something anyone can join? 🙂

  2. Katie says:

    When will you be getting to California? We have a really great group of military spouse bloggers here in San Diego/Pendleton and we'd love to have you join us when you get here!

  3. Dina Farmer says:

    Those are fantastic goals!!!! I hope you are able to reach them and I have a lot of photography goals on my list this year!

Leave a Reply

