Saving money with home hair cuts (or why sundays is my least favorite day)

I usually don’t tell people I cut my husbands hair. If I happen to give him a bad cut I don’t want people to know it was me. And after 6 years of cutting his hair, it happens every now and then, he gets a not so great cut.
When we got married he was spending almost $20 a week to get his hair cut. Being in the Marines, weekly haircuts are just a fact of life.
Shortly after we got married I got a pair of clippers, they came with an instructional video which I watched over and over again and then I started to cut his hair. I don’t even want to think about how bad they were in the beginning, because even now sometimes they are less than stellar, that first year must have been rough on him. But after all this time I have never done such a bad job that we had to shave it. And I think I have the fade down pretty good.
But I still hate it, and I dream about just sending him to the barber on sundays so I don’t have to do it. I secretly don’t mention that it’s haircut day in hopes he will forget, and just have to get it cut at the barber some time monday. But almost every sunday, at about 1 pm, I cut his hair. Taking into account deployments, other time apart and times that I did just send him to the barber, we have saved about $4,000 with me just cutting his hair. We take really good care of our clippers, and every few years I buy a nice new pair (that was before I learned you could get replacement blades) the last set I bought are really super nice and I hope will last us for a very long time.
So if you husband trusts you enough to let you try to cut his hair, I highly recommend it. Get a good video, check out YouTube, invest in a nice pair of clippers and have fun!
It’s just hair! It’ll grow back!

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in Family Fun, hair, Marines, Military, money. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saving money with home hair cuts (or why sundays is my least favorite day)

  1. Love Bug says:

    First, your baby girl is ADORABLE!!! Second, I think you and I have a lot in common. We too do the family haircuts and those days are my least favorite as well. I laughed reading this post. It nice to hear that I am not the only one. I also related to your post about talking to others who are not in my immediate family.

  2. I have a confession–I pretty much hate cutting my hubby's hair every week (I'm so afraid of messing it up) but it does save a ton of money. At least it will always grow back!

Leave a Reply

