You know what’s really stupid? Social Phobias.

My social anxiety isn’t that bad, but I have a really hard time talking on the phone with anyone but my immediate family. I don’t even talk to friends on the phone. I don’t know what it is about the phone but it makes me sweat. I hate calling the doctor, I hate calling about getting my car fixed. I hate calling anyone. If I didn’t talk to my mom for about an hour every day or two I would only use my phone as a phone about once a week. I have recently been working on broadening my Beachbody coaching, and I need to do a conference call with my head coach (Upline Star Diamond Coach) and a couple other coaches. Just the though of this makes me sweat, I felt instantly hot and uncomfortable thinking about it, trying to think of a way to get out of it, “I can pretend to be sick and not have a voice”, or “oh what if the baby is crying? then I’ll just have to get the abridged version of the call and take off”. Actually writing this out it all sounds so silly. I can’t believe I am trying to get out of a phone call that is intended to help me succeed.

But I am going to do it, I really have no excuse, no way out of it, and when it’s over I can think to myself just how silly it is that I was dreading it.

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in anxiety, Beachbody. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You know what’s really stupid? Social Phobias.

  1. I'm the same way. I HATE talking on the phone. I'm very outgoing and LOVE talking to people in person, so it's strange. I find that my anxiety goes WAY down if I write down everything I want to say first. That way, I have it right there in front of me to look at when I make the call, and it's NEVER as bad as I make it out to be in my head! 🙂

  2. Danafox says:

    I just had to make a phone call to followup on a job…I was terrified! I had to think about it for 30 minutes — what I would say, what I shouldn't say — before I dialed the phone number. Absolutely ridiculous! Sometimes I get off the phone and I have hives because I have worked myself up so much. You are not alone!

  3. Mrs. K says:

    Dude. I have the same disorder. I had (have?) an amazing blogging opportunity, but they want me to CALL them to talk about it. I just can't bring myself to do it. LOL

Leave a Reply

