Bringing Back the Cast Iron

I’ve made a huge mistake.
I have spent my whole adult life thinking that cast iron is for browning/cooking meat, and that when you season cast iron it is supposed to have a thick crust on it. I don’t know how I got to thinking this, I can’t blame my parents, they correctly used cast iron (although not often) throughout my whole childhood.

It all started with a pin.
(im not linking the pin because I can’t figure out what pinterest did, and I have no idea how to do it)
source

But I need to give credit where credit is due, and she gets her tutorial from Black Iron Blog.

that’s a beautiful pan! 

I don’t know what I was thinking. I guess I interchanged the word “seasoning” with “crust of burned on shit.” 
But my cast iron was nasty, and for some reason I thought that was okay. 
Anyway. 
I saw the pin and thought “gee, mine doesn’t look like that at all” 
after clicking on links and watching videos, I learned that a good test of a decently seasoned cast iron is to scramble eggs in it. Watching the video of scrambling eggs in cast iron made me sad that I have been neglecting mine so much. But it also made me wish I had more.  All I have is a 12 inch skillet and a 12 inch pan. So I set out to gather more. 
Within a day of posting an add on a local page searching for some I had three new (to me) pans, a 9 (inch) 8 and a 6 1/2. I could easily tell that the 6 1/2 stated that it was made in taiwan. If I were a real collecter this one would go into the giveaway pile.  But right now this is just fun. I could also see that the 9 pan had some sort of stamp on the back, but it could not be read because of the thick crust. Then I set off to clean them with the method shown in the pin, and on the Black Iron Blog. I really wish I had taken before and after pictures. 
The really sad thing is my cast iron are way worse off than the ones that I bought off some stranger and he had them sitting outside for a few years. I used mine maybe two months ago. 

After two days of soaking in oven cleaner the 6 1/2 pan was ready to be de-rused and seasoned. The others still have some days left. Mine will be close to a week I think. 

Also on the second day I discovered that the 9 pan is an antique, the brand stamped on the bottom is Wagner Ware Sidney O from what I gather this pan was made in 1940’s

I worked save my two pans from the horrible burned on ick that I had put on them.
Sadly this took much longer than the other pans. The pans I bought off some guy on facebook? a couple of days. The pans I have used for years? a WEEK.
I am a horrible person. 

Untitled
so pretty
But after much work and elbow grease, I have 5 wonderful cast iron pans. And I use at least one almost every day. I love my cast iron, it cooks so evenly and hold temperature very well.

One lesson I learned, don’t season your cast iron in the summer, in a house with no AC. I choose one of the hottest days (why? I dunno) and it got almost to 90 in my house with the oven on at 500˚. 
Just a friendly reminder, I was nominated for the top 50 Military Mom Blogs by VoiceBoks, you can vote for me here. Thank you for your support. 
About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in cleaning, cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

