I’m a Hippy Dippy, Cloth Diapering, Baby Wearing, Co-Sleeping, Breast Feeding, Mama

Evey’s first cloth diaper. She’s about a week old.
I don’t even know how it happened, I’m not overly earthy crunchy myself. 
Each decision I have made in parenting has been for my own benefit. I breast feed, because it’s free, also because I think it’s good for her, It’s always ready, and I have no shortage of milk. I still feed on demand (no schedule) because it works best for us, I don’t work so I don’t need to plan feedings, I sometimes try to time them if we have plans, but really she eats what she wants, when she wants. 
It also conveniently soothes her, if she gets upset I can nurse her and she calms down and either naps or eats till she is so full and happy she doesn’t remember why she was mad. 
I cloth diaper because I was cloth diapered, and because they are so cute nowadays. And washing poop in my washer doesn’t gross me out. Also we have had 2 small diaper rashes in Evey’s 7 months, I think this is due to cloth diapering. I still use paper diapers when I leave the house sometimes, and when we travel, because I don’t want to be driving around with a bunch of pissy diapers in my purse/diaper bag.
I baby wear because I can burn extra calories walking while wearing her. Also she really likes it, I can nurse in it by throwing a blanket over the carrier and no one knows, I fed her numerous times at the folk festival last weekend and I really think no one had any idea. 
The co sleeping started as a solution to a sleep strike when Evey was about 4 months old, and it just stuck. I still try to put her to bed in her own bed most nights, but she is almost always in my bed by midnight. 

We also practice Baby Led Weaning, a little. We are currently living by the motto 
“Food before one is just for fun”
mostly because I think baby food is gross, I don’t want to feed her something I wouldn’t even touch. But I know she’s not ready for mac and cheese and hot dogs, so when we have baby friendly veggies she gets some, I don’t think she has had a real solid food in over a week. So she is still primarily breast fed. 

I’m just doing what feels right for me. I don’t plan on breastfeeding forever, I do vaccinate, She will not sleep with me forever. 
I also don’t judge, I think if you formula feed that’s fine, if you don’t vaccinate or you delay I don’t judge, sleep training is fine if it works for you. I think as a mom as long as you are doing what you feel right in your heart, and you are doing your best, you are being a great mom. 
Go link up to the Mommy Mondays, I gotta run, my baby is crying and it’s her bed time. 
Mommy Mondays

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in link-up, Mom, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m a Hippy Dippy, Cloth Diapering, Baby Wearing, Co-Sleeping, Breast Feeding, Mama

  1. Thanks for linking up and sharing your story! I tried baby wearing but my little man wanted NOTHING to do with it so I gave up pretty quickly. He does love his puffs though…lol. He is almost 11 months now. 🙂 Happy Mommy Monday!

  2. Rachel says:

    Thanks for linking up! I agree- each person should do things their own way! Baby led weaning is hard, we tried it but he does really love his bottles. But at this point Carter eats real food all the time now AND his bottles! Soon I guess we will have to give the bottles up!

  3. Angi says:

    Love this! I don't have kids yet, but I agree with you – as long as you are doing what you feel is best for your baby, it's hard to judge! I'm definitely going to breastfeed if at all possible and DEFINITELY going to cloth diaper (no spending thousands on nasty paper diapers here!). I won't be co-sleeping (mainly because I'm selfish with my space!) but baby led weaning sounds good to me too, pretty sure that's what my mom did…all in all, hippie pride. 😉

  4. I agree with you that baby food is yucky! I made all of Clay's food and he's been on table food since 9 months and he does wonderful with it!

  5. ricky martin says:

    I have been a regular visitor of this site and I love reading blogs posted here.They are truly very well written,precise and to the point.Thanks.

    newborn baby clothes & petit bateau underwear

  6. Patria Jase says:

    So cute baby! I just read your post. Really nice one. I also use cloth diapering for my baby. Cloth diapers have become a popular product in the world of parenting today. There are various types of cloth diapers sold in the market. Beside friendlier on your baby's skin, cloth diapers also plays an important role in reducing the impact of waste from disposable diapers.
    Baby cloth diapers

Leave a Reply

