Macro Photography

I got a new lens last weekend
A Tamaron SP Di Macro
I love taking pictures with my Nikon D3000 but I really like taking pictures of the little things, the things that you don’t notice when you pass something by. I’ve wanted a macro lens for a while, when we found a used one that was a great price last weekend, I couldn’t pass it up, and the guy even showed me how to use it. 
I’m by no means a pro, in fact (and I am embarrassed to admit this) I didn’t even know how to manually focus my camera until this last weekend. 
But I love taking pictures, and I want to learn more. 
I have been almost exclusively using the new lens all week and have taken over a hundred pictures of mostly shrubbery and weeds. 
I am hoping to sneak into my neighbors yard (with her permission) when the weather gets better, because she has a bounty of flowers, and flowers mean bugs. I really want to take pictures of bugs. 
I took some of a wolf spider I found in the house yesterday, but those pictures sort of give me the heebie-jeebies.
One thing I really like about the lens is it can be used for macro or portrait. I could be wrong in my explanation but I think the camera guy explained it that the camera will focus really close (macro) and to infinity for regular shots and because the f-stop is low (f/2.8) I can get that focused foreground and blurry background that looks so nice in pictures.    
shrubbery

Renji

Renji really close

Aiko

yumm beer

flower (maybe?) growing out front

more from the front yard

Okinawa wind chime 

lavender plant I bough last week

seed starters 

dandelion 

bottle caps

blurry baby

tiny flowers from out front 

they are about the size of a pencil eraser 
About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in Life, Montana, photo essay, pictures. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Macro Photography

  1. Mrs. K says:

    Lovely! I'd like to learn more and I have the perfect teacher in my house, but he's infuriating to learn from. My husband was named one of the top ten photographers in the SouthEast in 2006 (I believe). But…he doesn't take many photos anymore.

Leave a Reply

