Ombre Painted Dresser (DIY)

When we found out we were having a baby I remembered a pin I’d seen on Pinterest (search Ombre Dresser, I can’t find the original right now but when I do I’ll update) and decided that’s what I wanted to do with the dresser and nightstand we’d had for years and was currently sitting empty in our basement. 
The only picture I have of the dresser before we made it pretty

For the ombre, what you do is pick a color swatch with enough colors to do one for each drawer, and go to your hardware store and get a sample can (about 5 oz) of each color. Paint each drawer on color. We went with purples and a gray background. We ended up using one sample can for each row of drawers and I think 4 sample cans of the gray for the main dresser.
FYI you cannot get a finish on your sample paint at Home Depot, you can only get it as a matte. We liked the way the matte looked and decided to not put a gloss or semi gloss top coat. 

Being amateur furniture painters we weren’t sure how to prep the wood, so we sanded off the existing finish, this seemed easer (and safer for me, being pregnant) than stripping it with chemicals 

Once we had it sanded (which was a total pain in the ass) we painted, first we did the dresser completely because I wanted to see that I liked it before we did the big huge dresser. 

and I liked it

with our color swatch

Really I think the mirror was the hardest part, to sand and to paint, it all had to be sanded by hand, and then the glass taped off, then painted then rotated so I could paint the part that was on the ground. It took forever. and it weighs a ton! 

dry faster!

In the Nursery

I should have cleaned the mirror

up close

no flash, a better representation of the colors. 
And the nightstand
It took me forever to decide on drawer pulls, I wanted fancy ones and we just couldn’t find any we agreed on. When we moved I wanted to be able to use the dresser right away so we decided to get some cheep-o ones at Ace Hardware for temporary use, and as it worked out, I totally love the way they look! 
Remember Google Friend Connect is closing soon
Follow me with bloglovin’
Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin
About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in DIY, Earth Week, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ombre Painted Dresser (DIY)

  1. Monique says:

    I LOVE this!!! I have never seen anything like it before and I think it's the coolest thing I've seen. I want to do this now! Thank you for sharing this Alana!!

  2. Kara says:

    That's really cute!!

  3. Tori says:

    Love this! I seriously need to do this with a dresser some day 🙂

Leave a Reply

