I counted my chickens

“Don’t count your chickens before they hatch”….

To say I am disappointed would be an understatement. I am very sad, heartbroken, but I’ll survive. Our hopes of going back to Okinawa this fall have been broken. There is no openings for my husband over there, in our PCS time frame. The Marine Corps has other plans for us and it looks like we are going to Camp Pendleton instead.

At first I was quite distraught, if you have been a reader for any part of the last 3 years you know my heart is in Oki, I loved it there, I loved it so much, and I wanted to go back more than just about anything. We really thought we would be going back. We were even preparing the dogs (vet requirements) and working on our things (discussing storage, vehicles, passports). We thought it was a sure thing.

I think what hurts the most is that we were told, by numerous people, that when you come off recruiting duty that you almost always get your top choice duty station, and if not you’d most certainly get one from your list. Well I guess we are the exception, Camp Pendleton wasn’t even on our radar.

But in the last 24 hours since we learned our fate, Ive come to terms, and i’m even getting a bit excited.

It’ll be our next adventure….
Warm weather, beaches, shopping, sun, sand, farmers markets, year round outdoorsy weather, all the things Montucky is missing. We wont have to worry about what to do with the cars, or getting the dogs medical checked out. 
I think we will live on base, at least for a while, Paul will keep his eyes open for spots in Okinawa, and we will request it again in the future. But for now I am getting excited (FOR IKEA!!!!) I love a good adventure and I hope Cali will be full of adventure for us. And it wont ever be below zero!
So do I have any Camp Pendleton readers? Tell me it’s just as great as I am building it up to be. 

now that i’ve written all this out, I bet it’ll change. 


Don’t Forget July 1 Google Reader is closing Follow on BloglovinIf you’re trying to figure out how to move your blogs from GR to Bloglovin’ check out Jane’s Tutorial HERE

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in Adventure, moving, Okinawa, PCSing, Sad. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I counted my chickens

  1. Charity says:

    We were at Pendleton before Okinawa and loved it! Lots to do and see and on base housing is really nice. I think you'll enjoy it!

  2. Jenn says:

    Sad you didn't get Oki like you wanted but I have friends at camp P and they LOVE it. Oki will probably happen again for you guys so don't give up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

