I cracked the code!

I am sure simply by writing about this I am going to jinx it and tomorrow will be a total fail. But…
I cracked Evey’s nap time code!
Since the beginning I’ve just let Evey do what she wants, she eats when she wants, she sleeps when she wants, except at night, she sleeps at night when we do, but through the day she does what she wants when she wants to. 
Until recently she has napped a few hours a day. Since her shots two weeks ago those naps have all but stopped, she cat naps, but we haven’t had very many big naps. So mommy gets nothing done. 
I’ll have to start with Monday, Monday she was a little sick, and had a fever most of the night (more on that later.) Tuesday I was tired and I had gotten nothing done. I had spent most of monday night watching You Tube videos to stay awake while monitoring Evey’s fever. I mostly watched HannainJapana who is an American girl who married a Japanese National and has a baby. She posts a lot about parenting as an American in Japan. 
Well anyway, in one of her videos, She was nursing her daughter to sleep, and she was sitting in a dark room. Duh, I know, dark room, but for some reason it never occurred to me. I would just nurse her sitting on the couch and put her into her rock and play and then go about my day until she woke up. And lately that’s been about 15-20 min at a time. 
But Hanna gave me the great idea of trying it in a dark room. Plus I can get more done and make more noise cleaning when I have her in another room. So first I just put her town in her pack in play in the dark, and that didn’t work. So I put the iPod on Pandora on the lullaby channel, and it still didn’t work. So I swaddled her, and nursed her until she fell asleep, then rather than put her into her pack and play I just put her in the middle of our bed.
It was like magic. Yesterday she slept 3 hours, and I had to wake her to eat, today she slept 2 1/2 until I dropped something and made a huge racket. 
It was awesome. 
And I got so much done. 
So now we have 2pm nap time. I hope it continues to be a success. 
– Alana
About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in Evelyn, sleep. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I cracked the code!

  1. Mrs. K says:

    That's exciting! I still let A do his thing whenever. I should start trying to nail down a schedule

Leave a Reply

