Evelyn’s Birth Story

I’m going to start with Wednesday early morning, I started having very mild contractions in the wee hours but they were very irregular, occasionally getting to between 4-7 min apart, but then they would go back to 8-10. I spent all day wednesday with intermittent contractions. That night they got a little more serious, but only for a short time. Thursday I was scheduled for an induction at 5pm. I was hoping to get things going before then so I spent all day doing anything the internet told me would pick things up. Everything. I was eating the pineapple, drinking the tea, stimulating the nipples, I couldn’t kick things into high gear, although I was getting more uncomfortable. 
When it came time to go to the hospital we took our time got some Taco Bell, drove slowly, took forever to get admitted. I was really hoping that I would have progressed a little and they would skip the bulb and maybe even send me home to labor there and let me come back in the morning. But no dice. 
I ended up admitted at the hospital anyway and I got a foly bulb around 7 I think. That actually very quickly put me into active labor, unfortunately I went from like zero to fifty very quick, and after about 2 hours of the foly bulb I was having contractions back to back about 3-4 at a time with no rest between them and only about a min or two between sets. I ended up with a few doses of stadol (which gave me creepy audio hallucinations) before I was 7 cm and the foly fell out. By the time they got my doctor there and my mom got there I think it was about 5 am I was already almost fully dilated and only labored for a little longer before it was time to push. I ended up pushing for about 3 hours and had two interthecals (walking epidural) due to severe back labor.
They were talking C-section because she was stuck behind my pelvic bone and after three hours of pushing it didn’t look like I’d get her past it. I heard my doctor and the nurse saying that it looked like I’d need the Csection and I knew I didn’t want that. I also wanted to have her out before the second interthecal wore off. The pain between the interthecals was unbearable, I think I scared everyone in teh room the way I writhed on the table and screamed out. Someone mentioned pitocin, and I asked to try  it because my contractions were slowing down and I was at about 10-15 min between them, at that rate the interthecal would wear off before I could get her out, I was already starting to feel my left leg again. I had one dose of pitocin and I think maybe 10 min later I got her past the pelvic bone. 
As her head passed under my pelvic bone her cord tightened around her neck and those last few pushes her pulse dropped dramatically. I had to get her out because they didn’t know if they could vacuum her because she had so much hair.  With the help of everyone, Paul and My mom each on a knee, My sister hold a towel for leverage, My doctor and an awesome nurse, I got her head out, I was switcihing from side to side and using a towel  also apparently her left shoulder came out at this time too. 
My Doctor had to cut the cord off of her neck because it was very short and so tight around her neck she couldn’t slip it over her head, it ended up only being about a foot long. She went straight to the nurses for oxygen and started crying pretty quick. I got her a few minutes later and she latched right on. She had some bruising on her shoulder, I am guessing because it came out with her head, but it didn’t dislocate or anything. I had three very minor tears, all but one internal. 
Evelyn Dawn was born at 1019 am on Friday December 14th weighing 8lb 4.4 oz at 20 3/4 inches long, with a head that was 14 and 1/4 inches around. We didn’t have the labor/birth we planned but the doctors and staff at the hospital worked with us to give us an amazing experience that was still pretty close to what we wanted, and I would do it again in a heartbeat. My only complaint was that the water in the tub wasn’t very warm. Haha. Since leaving on Saturday I keep craving the hospital hamburgers, they were really good! 
Evelyn is doing great, she feeds great, she sleeps a lot, she isn’t the least bit fussy. I almost feel like I have the perfect baby. She loves to snuggle, but she will sit quietly in her rocker if I need to go to the bathroom, or start a load of laundry. All of my family is gone now and it’s just me and Paul and things are amazing. I am still healing and very sore. But Paul is great with her too, he gets her in the morning after I feed her and they let me sleep in while they watch cartoons for another hour or two. 

– Alana
Twitter-creatures-iconFacebook-creatures-icon

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in Baby E, family, pregnancy, update. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Evelyn’s Birth Story

  1. cyn knight says:

    awwwww congrats — she is gorgeous!xxoo

  2. bicv says:

    That is such a wonderful story! I am so glad things went well. Isn't it amazing how much we go through with the pregnancy and birth and as soon as its over and you get to hold your baby, it all goes away. 🙂 Enjoy your sweet baby. I can't wait to hear about how she grows. I hope she can meet my little guy someday. -Caroline

  3. bicv says:

    That is such a wonderful story! I am so glad things went well. Isn't it amazing how much we go through with the pregnancy and birth and as soon as its over and you get to hold your baby, it all goes away. 🙂 Enjoy your sweet baby. I can't wait to hear about how she grows. I hope she can meet my little guy someday. -Caroline

  4. Mrs. K says:

    Oh, good! I'm so glad you have a perfect babe. I feel like A is that way, too…after K, I'm breathing a sigh of relief. LOL Good job getting that little cutie out without having to have a csection. That's wonderful!

Leave a Reply

