Winding Down

Things are winding down in this pregnancy. We are nearing the end. My due date is in 11 days, but my doctor is going to strip my membranes in 7.
I am ready. Well, physically. I am ready to have my body back. I am ready to lay on my side without my hands going numb. I am ready to pee without great difficulty cleaning up, and to pee less than once an hour. I am ready to bend down to get the dog bowls for dinner and be able to not worry if I will topple over. I am ready to go up and down the stairs and not be out of breath. I am ready to walk anywhere and not feel like my lady bits are about to fall out.
I am not sure if I am ready as in I have everything I will need. But I have a car seat, so I can take her home from the hospital, I have clothes to put her in, and blankets to wrap her in, and I have diapers for her to poop in. I have somewhere for her to sleep. I even have books to read to her, and pacifiers for her to suckle on, if she wants them.
There’s just one thing, and everyone keeps telling me its normal. But it still doesn’t feel real yet. It hasn’t sunk in that in about 2 weeks or less I am going to have a baby. A real live baby is going to come out of my body and come home with me. Maybe it’s because I can’t see her, even yet. It’s not like adopting a puppy where you go and look at it, and pick it out, and bring it home. No, I just have this weird feeling in my stomach, and I have expanded quite a bit over the last 9 months, and the thing inside me is about to come out. I’ve been told that this feeling can stick around for a bit, even after she is born, even after I take her home it may take a few weeks for it to hit me that she is mine, and she isn’t going anywhere.
I’ve just about finished washing her stuff. Now we just need a home to put it in. Hopefully that’ll be next week. My mom and sister get here Saturday, so she can make her appearance any time after that. In my head I am thinking she’ll be a few days early. Maybe Monday or Tuesday. I would like to have her while we are still living in Helena, It’ll just make things easier if I don’t have to drive an hour to get to the hospital, especially since the weather is very sketchy this time of year, and we have a mountain pass to drive through.

I hope the next week goes quickly and uneventfully and the following week we welcome our happy, healthy, precious little peanut into this world.

– Alana
Twitter-creatures-iconFacebook-creatures-icon

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in Baby E, pregnancy, update. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winding Down

Leave a Reply

