Recruiting Duty (or I’m not #1)

I don’t want anyone to misinterpret this post, I am only complaining a little. This is mostly intended to be informative. I also do not hold any of this against my husband at all, I know this is just how things are right now. Also these are my personal experiences, others may have different experiences. I don’t want anyone to think that this is just how it is for all Recruiter Wives. I have heard much worse stories, and I have also heard wonderful stories where Recruiting has lots of perks. 

Marine Corps Recruiting duty is tough. Lately it hasn’t been as tough as it could be, or as it was in the beginning, Paul is usually home by about 8-9 M-F and works only a few saturdays a month, and maybe once or twice a month works a sunday. Better than things were in the first year.

But sadly I am still not a top priority. I feel for a successful relationship each person must put the other at the top of their list. There are times in everyones life that that is not possible. Like right now.
In order for my husband to succeed as a recruiter, his first priority has to be making mission (getting x amount of kids per month). I don’t hold that against him. I understand that for him to be able to be promoted, reenlist, continue in his carrear, he has to make mission his priority. That means long days, late night phone calls, early mornings, over nights. He has to do community events, and go to events at peoples houses, he has to participate in things even when he would rather be with me (well he better rather be with me). This week there has been several things going on in western Montana that have taken priority over sitting on the couch and cuddling with me.

I do undersand now why people say that Recruiting Duty can destroy a marriage. You have to really trust your man, when he is gone, 12+ hours a day, running around hanging out with high school kids, and talking to younger girls and boys. I feel I am very trusting, but there is still jealousy. I often find myself asking who he is texting, who he is facebook chatting with, who called (especially when these calls are after 10pm), and what they want. Part of me is just nosey, but part of me is a crazy jealous green eyed monster. 

But Recruiting has its perks too. We got to go to two Marine Corps Birthday Balls last year, one for the local Marine Corps league and one for the Recruiting District. We also often get invited to events, for free, We’ve been to several boxing/MMA events, the rodeo, and the county fair. Paul helps out with the Marine Corps League and it’s a small group here but the people in charge are awesome. Really great people. 

I still can’t wait for this to be over. 

Thankfully we are more than half way done with Recruiting Duty. We have about a year and 3 months left. 

-Alana

 

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in Marines, Military, Recruiting Duty. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recruiting Duty (or I’m not #1)

  1. Kayla Sue says:

    My husband is currently trying to switch from Reserves to Active Duty and the recruiters keep asking us why we don't want to just to Recruiting duty??? Thanks, but no thanks. I am sorry you are going through this rough patch. I know I would be a "jealous wreck" too. Following you from thekentuckygal.blogspot.com

  2. Holly says:

    I have definitely heard the recruiting duty is tough. Before my hubs got out of the Marine Corps he thought about recruiting or being a drill instructor but I heard both are really tough. Honestly I think you have all the right to complain if you feel like it. It really is tough. But you are obviously strong and have a strong relationship!

  3. Kara says:

    I'm super glad hubby did his recruiting duty long before I met him. I tend to wonder who is calling/texting, whatever. It's not forever though!

  4. Mrs. K says:

    That doesn't sound like much fun. 12+ work hours and when he is home, he's still working from his phone? Ugh. Not for me. I get seriously annoyed when J's work interupts our family time even while I know he can't help it and he has to answer. It's hard to NOT feel 2nd.

Leave a Reply

