That one time I smeared poo on my face

No not really. But it sure looked like it.

I’m trying to deal with nasty pregnancy acne. I had to stop using Retin-A. There are also so many commercial face washes that are not suggested for use when pregnant. The top ones being salicylic acid and benzyol peroxide (well benzyol peroxide isn’t out 100% but there hasn’t been much research either way, so I am avoiding it).

If anyone has any pregnancy safe skin treatments or even just ideas please share in the comments, I’ll try anything!

So before I put anything on my skin I research it. I found this one recipe for a natural face mask/wash containing honey, lemon, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

Totally looked like I smeared shit on my face.

I do think it significantly reduced my redness. I haven’t seen much of a change in my acne yet, but it’s still early. One suggestion, if your honey is sort of stiff DO NOT MICROWAVE IT, it gets really hot and stays hot, and too runny to put on your skin. I had to put mine in the freezer for like an hour to get it to solidify enough that I could spread it on my face. 
Shout out to my sister for this idea too, she rocks! 
I’ve also been using 100% natural apple cider vinegar as a toner (ACV) I use 1 part ACV and 1 part water, the first few times I didn’t mix it with water and I smelled like easter eggs, You know that smell when you are dying them? yeah that was my face and back. 
But the thing I really like about the ACV is I don’t have that dry feeling on my face after I use it. I can skip lotion if I don’t need the extra sunscreen, like when I shower at night. ACV balances out the PH of your skin, so it’s not over dry or oily. It’s like magic smelly juice! 
I would be so happy to get my skin under control before the baby comes. It’s really depressing to look in the mirror and see the mess on my face, neck and back. My back is the worst, it’s a nasty mess, but thankfully people can’t really see it. 

Have a lovely day, and remember to find me on Facebook!

-Alana

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in Beauty, healthy, pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That one time I smeared poo on my face

  1. I know exactly how you feel! I has to stop using proactive and my skin was so bad throughout my entire pregnancy! I used some all natural scrub from st.ives. It didn't have any acid or whatever chemicals but I really don't think it did much to keep my skin clear. 😦

Leave a Reply

