13th Week Baby Update


This week I am craving: Asian Food. Mostly Okinawa Soba, Taco Rice, wasabi anything, and tempura.

mmm soba and gyoza
Cuttlefish Curry and Naan 

Oh and chili cheese fries from Wienersnitchel. It’s sad that I live in a town so small that we don’t even have an Asian market that would allow me to find the correct ingredients to create my own foods. The few restaurants we do have are pretty gross.

Symptoms: I don’t really have any this week, well except exhaustion. I am really freaking tired. I feel like I should be sleeping all the time, but when I finally get a chance to lay down, I can’t sleep. I am up until nearly midnight every night, But I am still sleeping un-medicated so that’s a good thing.

Other: I’ve been tired, and cranky. A little anxious, but about silly things, nothing related to pregnancy.

Today the baby looks like this

One thing that has been weighing on my mind this week is the growth of the babies brain. The body parts and organs are already there, now they are just growing. But the brain, well the brain is still growing and developing. And I have been thinking about all of the problems and illnesses that children are born with nowadays that are in the brain, all the learning disabilities, and developmental disorders. How are they caused? Could all the hormones and strange chemicals in what we consume be a contributing factor? I know many of these illnesses existed before all of our soda had corn syrup in it, and before our meat was injected with and fed hormones. But maybe, just maybe, all this shit we eat is making it worse.
Or maybe I am wrong.
But I am trying to eat better, I am trying to drink organic milk, limit my meat, and try to eat organic meat, or at least local meat. I am trying to not consume things with artificial sweeteners. I am cooking more, especially now that I can stomach cooking again. I am trying to eat more veggies, and when I can (find and afford) eat organic veggies. I’ve always tried to avoid highly processed foods,  I am almost entirely avoiding the frozen food isles, and much of the stuff found in the middle isles of the grocery, (except mac & cheese, I can’t help it, I need to eat it)
I wish I could eat more fish, but it’s just not easy to come by here, unless I caught it myself, and I’ve been told some of the lakes here are poisoned by old mines and I am not really sure where it’s safe to eat fish from.

That’s all for this week, As of today I am 14wks 1 Days. 25ish weeks to go!

Have a lovely day, and remember to find me on Facebook!

-Alana

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in Baby E, food, Okinawa, pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 13th Week Baby Update

  1. CamMi Pham says:

    The food looks good, Now i want asian food too lol thanks for sharing about the baby thing. I had no clue. We really need to go back to the basicx Cammihttp://www.cammilicious.com

Leave a Reply

