I am lucky and I know it

I talked to an older gentleman the other day, he was in the Navy at the end of Vietnam. We discussed how lucky people in the military are. So many people are born, live, have children, and die, in the same town, and their children do the same. On it goes for generations. Many people will barely leave their comfort zone. I have family members that were born in the Southwest and have never been beyond the Az, Nm, Ca, Nv area. I cannot imagine my life without the travels I have had. Not only are we given the opportunity to live all over the world, but we don’t have to pay for it.
I feel lucky because I get to move every 2-4 years. I get to see a new part of the world, a new culture, a new landscape.
Paul and I have been living in our house for about a year and a half now, and I am getting the itch to move again. We have never lived in one house for more than 2 years. Sometimes I look forward to putting roots down somewhere and owning a home. Having something solid. But then again I think that I would miss this so much, the excitement of “where will I be in 2 years”. Maybe I’ll change my mind when we have school age children, but right now I love the adventure of moving. I love the fact that I know (with the help of movers) I could be packed up and out of this house in 48 hours. The thought of moving excites me. Another adventure. I do love adventure.

Source: google.com via Alana on Pinterest

Have a lovely day, and remember to find me on Facebook!

-Alana

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in Military, moving. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am lucky and I know it

  1. Danafox says:

    Matt and I are the same way regarding moving. 🙂 The longest we have ever lived in a house is 3 years and we are already talking about moving somewhere else in the Portland area. You and Paul are welcome in our home ANYTIME! I would love to show you around! We could even go to Beaverton. 😉

  2. AlanaMarie says:

    We are going to try soon, Even if we just head out for the weekend, I am dying to see it.

Leave a Reply

