Mom’s Super Easy Salsa Recipe

In honor of Mothers Day I’m going to share with you my Mom’s Super Easy Salsa Recipe, which I have adapted to my liking.

You need:
1 can of diced tomatos
1 can of rotel tomatoes
1 Jalapeño (remove seeds for less heat)
1 small Onion (about the size of a lemon)
1 hand full of Cilantro
1 dash of Cumin
1 big dash of salt
Juice from 1/2 lime

Put everything in your food processor (or blender),
turn it on,
turn it off,
enjoy.

The great thing about this recipe is if you don’t like Cilantro? add less. Love it spicy? add more Jalapeño. It’s highly versatile, and you can add or subtract ingredients to your liking. Yesterday I smashed up a few avocados and threw some salsa into them and it was amazing!
It will last in your fridge for about a week, if you don’t eat it all by then.

Sadly as great as this is, my onion was extremely bitter, and I don’t love it as much as I normally do. I think next time I’ll use a red onion instead of a yellow one.

Any ideas on how to get the bitter out?

up close and personal with all that goodness

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in cooking, food, mexican, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

