My Favorite Vacation?

I’ve noticed quite a few bloggers are posting about vacations. One military blogger Flip Flops & Combat boots is even having guest posts posts on vacations.

It got me thinking about my favorite vacation. I don’t think Paul and I have ever had a legit vacation, just the two of us. We’ve had lots of road trips, with specific intentions, like driving to my moms for my sisters wedding, driving to his dads to get his Jeep, driving to Jackson, WY for the Marine Corps ball, unit camping trips, numerous visits to family, just to visit. But I can’t think of one single vacation, with the intent of just vacationing.
Paul is on the road a lot for work currently, and when he is home, he just wants to be at home.
I think maybe this summer, we’ll have to go on a real, Paul & Alana vacation.

On our many road trips, or trips to visit family, we have certainly stopped to see the sites, although we are usually in a hurry to ‘just get there’.

We have also had many ‘stay-cations’ where we visit the local sites and shit, day trips around where we live.

Natural History Museum, Washington DC

Cape Cod w/ my parents 

Rock climbing in Tucson, a short stop while PCSing on our way to Oki.

Bryce Canyon, UT on our way to Seattle to fly to Okinawa 
(tidbit- I am related to the guy that this park is named after, Ebenezer Bryce is my Great Great Great (i don’t know how many greats) Grandfather)

Lots of beach trips were made in Okinawa. 

Lots of castle ruins were visited

Fun adventure parks 

Nago Cherry Blossom Festival
Here in Montana we’ve even had a staycation or two, this is hiking Mt Helena. 

I’d really like to go to either Glacier NP or Yellowstone NP this summer. I’ve never been to Glacier, and I haven’t been to Yellowstone since I was 8 or 9. I think it would be so nice to just get away, just the two of us. Maybe with the dogs, or maybe we would kennel them. Either way I just want us to have a few days where we don’t have to worry about work, or dishes, or what to watch on TV.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the trips we have had, but they almost always have an ulterior motive. And they are rarely just about us, and fun. I’d really like to have a trip where the focus of the trip was the trip and not the destination.

Then I can have a great Vacation story to tell.

If anyone has a favorite vacation they want to share i’d love to post it here, just shoot me an email
alana mccawley at mac dot com

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in family, Family Fun, Montana, photo essay, pictures, Road Trip, travel., Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Favorite Vacation?

Leave a Reply

