Making Friends





Moving every 3 or so years is hard enough.


When you are military and you move to another military instillation you are thrust into an environment where many other families are doing the same thing. Hundreds of families move between military bases all the time. All of these families need to make new friends. Most of them are starting over with a clean friendship slate.


I think making friends in this instance is fairly easy because there are so many people who need friends as well. Also you are all sort of in the same boat. You are all military families, you understand the long hours, the late nights, the unexpected working weekends, drills, exercises, and deployments.


Moving into the civilian world is very different. Over a year ago we moved to Helena, Mt. I can honestly say I have no friends in a 40 mile radius. The only people that I could maybe call friends are a few people I work with who I am ‘facebook friends’ with, but don’t see outside of those walls.


I’ve survived this because I am very introverted, I don’t mind sitting at home, all by my lonesome, surfing the net, knitting, sewing, crafting, reading, blogging, playing with the dogs, working out, doing housework (oh who am I kidding) watching reality TV.


But today I went to get a pedicure, and after hearing my (pathetic) story about living in Helena for over a year and not having any friends the woman doing my nails invited me to her house tonight for a Pure Romance party (naughty toy). I was extremely hesitant, not because I am awkward about the whole toy thing but because I am awkward when it comes to making friends. Even after I decided to go, before I left the house I near had a panic attack, the first one in months. I had to take an anxiety pill for the first time since before christmas.


Alas I pulled myself together and I went and had an amazing time. I met some really cool people and got invited to another party in two weeks. I gave my phone number to a few girls and I hope to hear from them soon. I am so happy tonight, perhaps happier than I have been in a while. I don’t think I realized how much I missed woman companionship until I got to hang out with a big group of ladies tonight.

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in Friends, Helena, moving. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

