Homesick for Okinawa

I shouldn’t try to hide it. I’ve been a little down lately. I really miss Okinawa. I miss the whole island lifestyle. I miss living a mile from the ocean. I miss the big shopping centers. I miss the fresh fish. 

I miss the whole thing. 


There are good days and bad days. But I still have days where I miss it as much as I did the day we left. 


I hope that we get to go back. We’ve got a little less then two years left on recruiting duty. We are both hoping that after we will be given the opportunity to move back to Okinawa, Japan. 

I find myself constantly looking at houses for rent. 
I know what I want, and occasionally I find a house or two that are everything (on paper) that I am looking for. 
The other day I found the Maekawa House. 



About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in Japan, Okinawa, Sad. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homesick for Okinawa

  1. Hi there,I'm actually doing some research on the net to see if I can help my friend out. She moved to Okinawa with her husband who is in the Navy in June and she is SO hating it. He just left for deployment for 3 months and her two kids are driving her nuts. They don't get any time away from each other. Do you have any pointers I can give her? She has met some military families but says they are always busy doing their own thing. I just feel so desperate to help her but I'm so far away. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

