I have naughty little doggies.

I love my doggies, but they are naughty little creatures and can’t be let to run amok through the house. We have an upstairs and downstairs, the down is rarely used except as access to the garage and the laundry room. The upstairs is the living, dining, kitchen, bed, computer and one bath. But confining the dogs to the upstairs for supervision isn’t even enough. Renji has a bad habit of eating EVERYTHING. Really anything he can get in his mouth he will eat, paper, plastic, fiber, cat litter. Aiko has a nasty habit of sneaking off down the hall and doing her business instead of asking to go outside, especially when it’s cold.

So the dogs are constantly confined to the main living area of the house. We do this with baby gates. But those things are hard to step over, and we trip over them constantly. Well earlier this week I tripped on one and demolished it. I had to come up with a better solution, something that would be stationary but not as tall. I decided that I would sew a little divider and keep it in place with tension rods.
And here is my divider:


well hello there Renji!

and from the other side:

I have only replaced the gate I broke. The other one we move every night from the end of the hall to the bedroom door to keep the dogs in the room at night. Tripping over this one happens less because it is on a level surface, not on the stairs.

This divider was super easy to make, I sewed two coordinating fabrics together, and hemmed up each raw side. Then I figured how big of holes I would need for my tension rods and sewed another hem on the right side of the fabric a little bigger than my rod.

I have fallen in love with sewing. I am already washing my fabric for my next project!

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in aiko, craft, dog, Renji, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I have naughty little doggies.

  1. Danafox says:

    Brilliant! I am going to have to think about how I can utilize this strategy in my house as my doggies are also naughty. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

