Read the book first?

I’ve been reading a lot of books lately that have been made into movies. I like books where I can watch the movie and see someone else’s vision.
I’ve read all the Harry Potter, all but the last Twilight, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo & Girl who Played with Fire. I read The Help last week. Now I am reading Water for Elephants.
So I am wondering, when a book comes into your life that has been made into a movie do you read first then watch the movie? Or movie first and then read the book?
Source: google.com via Wendy on Pinterest
I always read the book first, and then, even when the movie is good, I still critique it.
I guess that’s to be expected.
But I always end up just a little disappointed in the movie. I watch it and wish there was more. Wish they could have developed the characters better, or shared more of the story. 
I feel for the people who don’t read the book, I wish for them to read the book so they can be a part of the whole story. 


When I read a book I form a bond with the characters, They become a part of my life. I feel like I am there with them.
When you see someone else’s vision of the story that was a part of your for however short or long the time you were reading it, the way they see the story is sure to be different from your vision.
Or maybe I just take things too seriously, or read too passionately.
I love reading. I love diving into something and letting it completely consume me.
So do I finish the book then watch the movie, or watch the movie then finish the book?
About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in Book, movie, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Read the book first?

  1. S.B. says:

    Book first…always!!!

  2. cyn says:

    am a book first person too! but i have on occasion done the opposite — but never by choice!

Leave a Reply

