Saying Goodbye.

(no, I am not saying goodbye)


Goodbye is just a part of Military Life. 


We all leave, we are all left. Friends move away when they get new orders. About every three years it’s time to move for a Marine Family. Sometimes it’s just to a different unit at the same base, sometimes it’s across the globe. 


A list of our moves: 
I was born and raised in Tucson, Az. 
Early 2005 We moved to Chicopee, Mass. Stationed at Westover Air Reserve Base. 
(in 2006 we moved from an apartment to base housing)
Early 2008 We moved to Okinawa Japan. Stationed at Camp Courtney. 
(in 2009 we moved from base housing into an off base house)
Late 2010 We moved to Helena, Montana. Stationed on recruiting duty. 


Moving every three years is a huge pain in the ass. There are boxes stored in my house that haven’t been unpacked since we lived in chicopee. But the worst part is making friends and saying goodbye. 
It’s not often you meet people on the same rotation as you, so usually you or your friends are leaving while someone is staying behind. We were lucky in Okinawa, many of our good friends were on the same rotation as we were so we all were together. My two best friends and I all left the island in a matter or months from each other. With Paul and I being the last to leave. 
I am still in contact with most of my friends from our travels. But it’s hard to keep in touch when they are so far away, and our current lives are so full of work, and play, and trying to make new friends. 


We have made new friends that are leaving soon. That’s the luck since we got to Helena, we make friends and then they leave. I have just a few people here in Montana that I would call a friend. 


I deeply love each and every one of my military friends that I have made over the last 6 years. I treasure so many of the friendships I have been blessed with. I hope that we all get to see each other again someday. 

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in Best Friends, Friends, moving. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saying Goodbye.

  1. rebecca says:

    I understand how you feel. I grew up half of my life in military life. The goodbyes are sad but the new places and adventures are exciting

Leave a Reply

