Christmas Turkey

Last nights dinner was OMG amazing. 


Turkey:
1 11lb turkey
1/2 onion
3/4 orange
1/2 bottle of beer (amber)
(all herbs are dried)
crushed rosemary
Thyme
Garlic Powder
Mortons Seasoning Salt
Black Pepper
Rubbed Sage


I started with a beautiful naked turkey. 

I combined some dry ingredients
 and rubbed them under the breast skin and all over the sexy body
Then I shoved half a chopped yellow onion and 3/4 a quartered orange up it’s ass. 
I dribbled about 1/8 bottle of beer into the ass cavity.
Sexy Beer Turkey
 I cooked the bird at 420 for 20 min then reduced to 350 for 3 hours. 
 Throughout cooking I added small amounts of beer  beer and enough water to keep the bottom of the roasting pan wet.

Also tent that bad bird in foil when it gets golden brown to prevent the skin from burning. I think this also helps keep it moist. 

She’s lovely
So Lovely
Tender and juicy. 
I made the Cranberry Sauce from scratch.  
Cranberry Sauce:
3/4 cup water
1/2 container frozen OJ
1 bag of cranberries
1/2 orange
1/4 bottle of beer (amber)
3 tbsp sugar

bring frozen OJ and water to a boil. Add cranberries and reduce heat to a simmer, cook about 20 min or until it’s almost the consistency you like it. it will thicken a bit upon cooling. Allow to cool at room temperature for about 20-30 more min then transfer to fridge. 

it needed more sugar but I am trying to not be fat. 


seasoned mashed potatoes 
(no picture) 
boiled 5 quartered potatoes
with 
1/2 head of garlic peeled, separated and cut into 1/2 inch cubes
1tbsp rosemary
1tbsp thyme
1/2 tbsp Morton’s seasoning salt

when you strain your potatoes much of the seasoning will drain out with the water but leaves a great flavor. Make sure you mash up the garlic with the potatoes

mash with some milk (and/or half and half) and butter 

oh and the potatoes tried to kill me. 
I burned myself on the boiling water. 

 I was boiling potatoes with herbs in the pot and all the herbs were stuck to the side of the pan, so i was using a turkey baster to rinse the herbs back into the boiling water. and I accidentally squirted the water out of the pot, onto myself. It was really stupid. And now I have this gross looking blistery burn on my stomach. 

So, don’t do that. 


Get Facebook Buttons

 Share the love.

About alanamarie26

Marine Wife, Mom, Student. Trying to keep a household running while going to school full time.
This entry was posted in cooking, fat, Holdiay, photo essay, photograph, pictures, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Turkey

  1. Cyn says:

    turkey dinner is my most favorite meal — yours looks divine!!

Leave a Reply

